A road trip around Sarawak

A road trip around Sarawak
My Number Six was only three years old at the time of the road trip.

On 14 December 2016, hubs and I began our journey with our seven kids on a road trip from Kuching to Miri. It was a time of bonding for us as we took our time to discover the beauty of this land of Sarawak which we call home.

For eight days and seven nights, everything was an amazing find for all of us; from palm oil trucks that passed us by to get to the countless mills along the way, to longhouses by the roadside that seemed to go for miles on end, to pepper farms by the hills and paddy fields, to mouthwatering dishes like the kampua mee in Sibu and the umai in Mukah, to googling historical facts about certain places…

Let me just say that no amount of classroom learning could ever have provided my kids with enough knowledge on this wonderful place. The younger ones even recited at the end of the journey what ‘metres’, ‘litres’, and ‘grammes’ were. 😆

But the most valuable discovery we all got from this trip which we will forever cherish and remember is the culture of hospitality of our people in all the places that we stepped foot in. It is our thing: this community spirit, this welcoming friendliness, this custom of being of service to others. This is our society.

And we’re kind of losing it in the cities. I will never forget the conversations that came so easily with the people in the markets, the homes we visited, and the eating places. I will never forget the smiling faces of the locals. I will never forget the way we could still find <i>home</i> so many miles away from Kuching.

Sarawak is truly an awesome place I’m proud to call my homeland. And I don’t think I’m being biased just because I am a Sarawakian. Many visitors from all over the world have testified to being given one of the best hospitality in the world.

No amount of journalism would ever do this beautiful land justice. You need to be here personally to experience all the wonders of this place.

This is my first time documenting my travels. There are some things that I did not get to archive. But for whatever I could, they are all in this blog. There are 43 posts in total including this summary; some are more of a caption for the photo that hopes to speak a thousand words, while others may contain long documentation of my experience at a certain place.

Well, here we go…

Next: The start of the journey

Leave a comment